Life

Looking Forward To 2017

Here we are again at the start of a new year.  Yes, I know, it happens every year!  Ha ha.  Seriously though, I’ve been perusing Insta-Face-Chat (that’s how hubby refers to the leaders of the social media dynasty) these past two days, feeling encouraged, inspired, motivated and – honestly – sometimes quite amused at all of the ‘oh crap, it’s the new year, what am I going to resolve to do / be better at’ posts.

Okay, folks.  Let’s have a reality check.  Seriously.  I’ve been on a ‘healthier me’ journey for two years now.  Two years.  I’ve shed 20 pounds that I’ve been able to lay down and walk away from.  I lost another 25 pounds too.  Found them again.  Then lost them again.  Aaaand found them again.

It’s not for a lack of desire to shed them.  Truly, TRULY it is not.  I know EXACTLY what I need to do: make healthier eating choices, watch my portion sizes, exercise at least 30 minutes every day, drink more water and make sure I get my daily dose of vitamins / supplements.  See?  I know what to do.  And I’m capable.

My issue is consistency.  Sigh.  Ahhh, consistency.  Consistency is my nemesis.  UGH!  I suck at consistency.  Guess what, though? I know EXACTLTY what to do to help with consistency as well: make lists, plan ahead, say no to things sometimes so your plate isn’t too full, eat the elephant one bite at a time, stay organized.  Yeah.  It’s that easy.  Oh but it’s not.

SO! Here’s what I’m thinking.  I’ve got to start with a list of what I want to accomplish this year BUT it has to be RE-A-LIS-TIC (you see, this is where people screw it up – they have these completely UNrealistic goals).  If you struggle with consistency, make your own list … and keep it realistic!

Reality it is.  I’ve got a lot on my plate for 2017 already (yeah, yeah, I know … they’re things I can’t really ‘put off’ though – more on that later) but the top priority for me is to master consistency.  Phillipians 4:13 says ‘I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.’ (AMP) …  I’ve got this!

I’ve got to go make that list … bring it on 2017 … Happy New Year

One thought on “Looking Forward To 2017

Leave a Reply

