Steven & Laura

The Story Of Us ~ Finally Together

Here’s the thing about how He works things together for your good: no matter how strong you think you are, He will remind you that He is in control.

That Wednesday night, the one after I returned from Ohio, I went to bible study by msyelf.  I remember sitting with a friend and feeling so out-of-place because I had always sat with Steven.  It’s funny, the only other thing I remember from that service is Pastor Bill saying ‘I didn’t get it right on Sunday.  I got it wrong.  It was no good.’ … it’s the ONLY time I ever remember him saying he felt like the message he delivered was wrong.  And that Sunday’s message had been the one that Steven received as confirmation to walk away from me.

So there I was, at the end of April, about 6 weeks or so later, in need of a truck so I could move.  Yeah, I did it.  I called him.  I remember saying ‘Look, I need help moving and you’re the only one I know with a truck.  So can you help me?’ and he said yes.  He even brought some friends, Shane & Danielle, to help with the heavy lifting.  Danielle told me later that she was so impressed with my ability to be friendly yet cold to him.  I may have been harboring some ill-will after all, yikes!

Anyhoo… so there we were all chummy on moving day.  It was a long day.  I had a lot of STUFF!!  Maybe one day I’ll post the story about my suitcase full of shoes, lol … maybe one day!

Sidenote: You know that reference to John 13:7 from yesterday’s post? Steven told me later that he wanted a woman who could take care of themself.  A woman who wouldn’t rely on anyone else but would rely on God and her own abilities to make it through life.  He felt like a woman who could take care of themself wouldn’t have any problem taking care of Maverick if anything happened to him.  He never told me that until much later in our journey but it’s important to know because the time he spent away from me was the time that God was showing him that I was the promise He had made.

We had pretty much finished moving my tremendous amount of stuff in to my new house that evening when our friends departed quietly.  I hopped up on the counter and opened a Pepsi, surveying the chaos in my kitchen.  He came right up to me, looked me straight in the eye, said ‘I’m sorry I’ve been such a jerk.  I love you very much.’ … and then he kissed me.  And here we are, nearly 11 years later.  God is so good, all the time!

20161012_224308
Baby Us … 11 years and counting … so very blessed

Who knows what tomorrow’s post will be about … but I would love for you to follow me and find out!

Leave a Reply

